The fourth literature exhibition today|“A Stitch in Time”:Link to the latest social and cultural status of the world

Opening time:2019.12.12 15:00pm
Duration: 2019.12.13 -- 2020.06.25
Location: Gallery 1, today art museum

Exhibition Preface

Documenta today is a permanent large-scale international triennial exhibition hosted by today art museum in Beijing. Since its birth, it has continuously discovered and enhanced the experimental and academic nature of Chinese contemporary art from the perspective of China's national conditions, and at the same time, understood and grasped the changing trend of international contemporary art from a global perspective. Since it was first held in 2007, after 12 years of practice and experience, the project has made an extraordinary impact both domestically and internationally. It not only shows the theory and practice of art in China, but also reflects the new trend of contemporary art creation in Asia and other parts of the world. "A Stitch in Time" will be the theme of the 4th documenta today in 2019, and 37 artists from different countries and regions will be invited to participate in the exhibition jointly curated by curator huang duk and Jonathan Harris. The theme of the exhibition is based on the latest social, political, economic and cultural complex changes in the world. These new trends of world view and the condition of uncertainty, similar to the imbalance of economic development, trade barriers and reverse the rise of globalization, forced to displaced immigrants, narrow nationalism and religious extremism and terrorism are emerging, the competition of high-tech technology and network penetration and attacks across geographical boundaries, and environmental problems, and Britain's confusion and so on, directly or indirectly affect and threat to human survival and the development process.


Huang Du, Jonathan Harris


Arts Territory Exchange (aTE)(UK)、Bashir Makhoul (Palestine) 、Christy Rupp(US)、Coco Fusco & Paula Heredia (Cuba)、Cody Choi (Korea)、Glexis Novoa(Cuba)、He An、Hu Weiyi、Hwang Jung-hoo(Korea)、Jananne Al-Ani (Iraq)、Jiang Zhi、Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige(Lebanon)、Ju Ting、Lamia Joreige(Lebanon)、Larissa Sansour (Palestine)、Lee Maelee(Korea)、Li Hongbo、Li Jinghu 、Li Xiaofei 、Liu Wei、Liu Xiaodong、Manish lal Shrestha(Nepal)、Mark Boulos (US) 、Miyamoto Ryuji(Japan)、Qiu Anxiong、Shang Yang、Shao Yinong、Shen Yuan、Sherman Ong(Malaysia)、Shi Yong 、Tan Xun、Tian Longyu、Wang Luyan、Wang Tuo、Xiao Yu、Zhang Kechun、Zhang Yibei